Porterville College

 PC Fire Academy graduates 28 Cadets


Porterville College honored 28 cadets at the Fire Fighter 1 Academy Class #31 graduation, held in the PC gymnasium on Nov.13.

Cadets Amanda Barbosa and Cliff Wiggins were recognized for serving as the class "Battalion Chiefs". On top of completing all other training and study required of Fire Academy Cadets, the class Battalion Chiefs assumes the additional responsibility of maintaining class decorum, lining the class up for inspection each day, assigning equipment set-up tasks, leading the class in all classroom and field training activities and assisting the instructional staff as needed. Wiggins is a veteran who is currently a Reserve for the City of Porterville Fire Department. Barbosa is a Reserve Firefighter for the City of Dinuba.

Recognition was also given to six cadets for serving as "Company Captains" under Barbosa and Wiggins. They are Jose Ramos, Reggimel Calo, Carlos Cervantes, Mikal Sanchez, Donald Smith and Scott Scheline.

Each year, by secret ballot, the Cadets select a class member who they felt went "above and beyond the call of duty" in assisting others with hand-on skills practice, classroom study or in other ways during the difficult and rigorous 15 week Academy. Reggimel Calo was overwhelmingly selected for the "Class Leadership" award by his fellow cadets.

Per State Fire Marshal rules, all cadets in our SFM Accredited Fire Academy must score at least 80% on each written examination and there is much competition among Cadets to have the highest overall score at the end of the Academy. Receiving the "Top Score" award this year was Lawrence Burgett with an overall score of 98%.

Cliff Wiggins was given the class "Allegiance Award" for presenting the colors and leading the flag salute each day, as he also did during the graduation ceremony.

Congratulations the Fire Fighter I Academy Class #31: Felix Arreguin, Amanda Barbosa, Johnnie Berrones, Lawrence Burgett, Reggimel Calo, Carlos Cervantes, Jesus De-La-Cruz, Tyler Doyle, Courtland Duckworth, Zane Duvall, Darrel Garcia, Gonzalo Garcia, Jordan Gentry, Brandon Gresham, Gerardo Hernandez, Trevor Jones, Joshua Mendez, Elias Olivares, Andrew Paredez, Jose Ramos, Humberto Ruiz, Mikal Sanchez, Scott Scheline, Angel Silva, Donald Smith, Zakary Snodgrass, Raul Tapia and Cliff Wiggins. Porterville College would also like to thank many community partners that support the Fire Tech programs.

Kern Community College District