Enrollment fees are set by the state at $46 per unit at the time of publication.
Non-resident students are required by state law to pay tuition in addition to enrollment fees. The tuition fee for non-resident students is $211 per unit up to a maximum of 15 units per semester. There is a capital outlay fee for $21 per unit , maximum of 15 units per semester for non-residents.
A law was passed by the Legislature in 2001 known as “AB 540.” Any student, other than a nonimmigrant alien, who meets all of the following requirements, shall be exempt from paying non-resident tuition at the California Community Colleges, the California State University and the University of California (all public colleges and universities in California).
Students who are nonimmigrants [for example, those who hold F (student) visas, B (visitor) visas, etc.] are not eligible for this exemption. The student must file an exemption request including a signed affidavit with the college that indicates the student has met all applicable conditions described above. Student information obtained in this process is strictly confidential unless disclosure is required under law. Students eligible for this exemption who are transferring to another California public college or university must submit a new request (and documentation if required) to each college under consideration. Non-resident students meeting the criteria will be exempted from the payment of non-resident tuition, but they will not be classified as California residents. They continue to be “non-residents.” AB540 does not provide student financial aid eligibility for undocumented alien students. These students remain ineligible for state and federal financial aid. However, the California Dream Act makes financial aid possible for the AB540 students. Please contact the Office of Financial Aid for details.
To request this exemption, a student must complete the form in the Office of Admissions and Records. Students may be required to submit additional documentation. Contact the Office of Admissions and Records if you have questions.
A $12 student health fee has been authorized by the Board of Trustees for all students attending classes on the main campus during the fall or spring semester. The fee is $10 for summer session. The purpose of the fee is to make health-center services available to all students and to provide greater health-care educational programming.
The following health fee exemptions are authorized by law:
Exemption form is available in the Office of Admissions and Records.
Porterville College students shall be assessed $1 per unit for courses on the main campus up to a maximum of $5 per fall semester and $5 per spring semester. The fee shall not be assessed for summer session enrollment.
Students who have been admitted to the college may enroll in courses as auditors with the permission of the instructor and College President or designee, and subject to the following provisions:
Course Audit forms are available in the Office of Admissions and Records beginning on the first day of class.
Parking on the main campus is restricted to parking permit holders during the academic year, including summer session. A semester parking permit is $20 and a summer permit is $10. Parking permits are not required on weekends. Visitor parking and handicapped parking is enforced at all times.
It is estimated that the cost of books and supplies will be $650 to $850 per semester for a 15-unit schedule. Books may be purchased or rented at the college bookstore which is open year-round except during college holidays.
Enrollment and tuition fees will be credited to the student account, when applicable, for program changes through the first two weeks of the fall or spring semester. In courses other than semester length, the Office of Admissions and Records should be consulted regarding withdrawal and refund deadlines.
To receive the enrollment or tuition refund, a student must apply for the refund in the Office of Admissions and Records before the end of the second consecutive semester of non-attendance (Summer session is not considered a semester).
Should the college cancel a class in which a student is enrolled and there is a reduction in units which results in a lower fee, the student should request a refund through the Office of Admissions and Records.
Health fee refunds will be credited to the student account when applicable, if all classes on the main campus are dropped and an enrollment fee credit is generated by the transaction.
To receive the health fee refund, a student must apply for the refund in the Office of Admissions and Records before the end of the second consecutive semester of non-attendance. (Summer session is not considered a semester.)
January 28, 2016