Porterville College

CalWORKs

CalWORKs

The CalWORKs Program provides services to students who receive TANF (Temporary Aid for Needy Families, formally known as AFDC) and who have been referred by their TulareWORKs caseworker and monitors academic progress. Other services include CalWorks work study (on- and off-campus), job placement, job search skills, resume writing, interviewing techniques, academic advising, books, funding for child care, mileage reimbursement, and job readiness workshops.

What can PC CalWORKs do for you?

  • Child care referrals
  • Financial aid advising
  • Career development workshops
  • Work study programs on-campus
  • Off-campus job placement
  • Advancement toward vocational degree or certificate leading to employment
  • Links to key PC departments and outside agencies
  • Job training leading toward employment

 

Eligibility:

  1. Referred by TulareWORKs caseworker. Must be receiving TANF case aid and have a Welfare-To-Work Plan
  2. Student  completes college matriculation process i.e. application, assessment and orientation
  3. Meets with counselor and enrolled in classes
  4. Completes PC CalWORKs paperwork i.e. application, release of information, Ed Plan and Activity Plan
  5. Student provides the Agency Certification "gold form" to the PC CalWORKs Office

 

Services:

  • Educational, academic, financial and personal counseling
  • Job placement on and off campus
  • Book services
  • Workshops
  • Work-study
  • Food Pantry
Name Position Email Phone Location
Errin Arcos Adjunct Counselor errin.arcos@portervillecollege.edu 559-791-2366
Matt Bentley Adjunct Counselor matt.bentley@portervillecollege.edu 559-791-2270
Diana Cabrera Department Assistant III dcabrera@portervillecollege.edu 559-791-2223
Araceli Carranza Counselor acarranza@portervillecollege.edu 599-791-2367
Ana Ceballos Counselor ana.ceballos@portervillecollege.edu 559-791-2326
Michelle Herrera Program Technician michelle.herrera@portervillecollege.edu 559-791-3661
Diane Thompson Director, Student Services dithomps@portervillecollege.edu 559-791-2278
Yolanda Vasquez Counselor yvasquez@portervillecollege.edu 559-791-2465
Kern Community College District